A new update has been uploaded to the platform to no longer show the profile pictures of Facebook users. This update affects the following products:
- Facebook Giveaway and Multi-Network Giveaway with Facebook posts:
- In the list of users that have commented on or liked a post, we will only show the username, but not the profile picture.
- In the list of winners of the giveaway, we will only show the username of the winner, but not the profile picture.
- In the Contests, Games, Quizzes, Coupon Codes promotions, and Entry Form Giveaways where it's possible to use the Facebook Social Login:
- In the administrator's internal list of participants, the Facebook username is shown and the Facebook icon to show that the user participated with Facebook login. But the profile picture will not show.
- In the contests where a public gallery with the users' participation is published (Photo Contest, Video Contest, Writing Contests, or game ranking), we will no longer show the profile picture. We will only show the name of the participant.
We have made this change because, on 23 October 2020, Facebook will apply a change to its API which modifies the way applications can obtain the profile picture of Facebook users. The applications must request the picture of the users with an identifying access token. Anonymous access to the users' profile pictures will be permanently disabled. This change gives more protection to the Personally identifiable information such as their profile photo.
Following Facebook's line of security and our own Information security policy, in Easypromos we've made the decision to no longer show the Facebook user profile pictures to maintain the maximum level of privacy of the users' personally identifiable information.